Inner Cities = N****s or “The Blacks” at best

There’s a term called Dog Whistle, urban dictionary put’s it like this:

Dog whistle is a type of strategy of communication that sends a message that the general population will take a certain meaning from, but a certain group that is “in the know” will take away the secret, intended message. Often involves code words.
Republicans say they want to make civil rights for gays a state issue, which is really just a dog whistle strategy for saying that they will refuse to grant equal rights on a federal level.
Bush had his moments when he referenced a Shining City on the Hill is the one that comes to front of my mind.  It signals to all the evangelicals he got the significance of our nation under god.
I don’t know if using the term Inner Cities is a Dog whistle or just an insulting more PC way of saying niggers.  Listen, you and I both fucking know that the image conjured up is not of some hipster pushing Caleb around the recently gentrified neighborhood park in a brand new Maclaren.  It conjures up a black family sitting on a stoop braiding each others hair mid day with a Cool dangling from their lips mumbling about how the man is keeping them down.
When you hear someone say inner city they mean “the blacks” period.  My family still says “inner city” and it doesn’t fall out of their mouths steeped with nostalgia and honor.  I remember they’d say mouliynan and I did too when I used to think it was cool and before I realized that is was code for nigger.  I eventually learned how awful that word is.  I stopped using the term.  I matured, I grew up, I realized it was racist.  I know racism when I see it.  I have family in Mississippi.  When we went to bury my grandfather in Ms a decade ago, my grandmother was pointing out different landmarks in and around Oxford.  I asked her about a particular college we drove by and she said, “That’s just some ol’nigger school” and it rolled off her tongue like molasses, smooth and dark.  I know racism.  Using the term inner city isn’t endearing.  It’s barely code, but it’s code.   44027_article_full
We are celebrating a holiday today and the weekend leading up to it, our new president is picking a fight with a Civil Rights hero.  He’s telling a black guy to go help his people.  ARE YOU FUCKING KIDDING ME?  How can this be viewed as anything but racist?  At a minimum it is insensitive, and racism definitely has a layer of insensitivity in it.  John Lewis was clubbed in the head by a bunch of racist cops in Alabama.  I saw the movie! It happened.
So when people tell me that I need to get over it, and that Trump is my president they can go fuck themselves because it’s this type of insensitive, racist rhetoric that does nothing but hurt those that already hurt the most and give the people inflicting the pain that much more approval to continue their oppression.

Leave a comment